Hello, Is This Thing On?

Woah. Don’t log in to wordpress for a week or two and they go and change the whole damn thing up on you.  I don’t even know how I’m going to categorize this post!

Well I’m almost done with my second week at work so I figured I might as well take a blog break.  Way to get off on the right foot, right?  Well a lot of my job so far has involved meetings about short and long term goals.  All that good business mumbo jumbo.  I do have a lot of goals for myself at this company, unfortunately I can’t tell my manager some of them.  So I’ll list my long and short term goals here, becuase why the fuck not.

Lets start with short term

SHORT TERM GOALS

1) Don’t be the drunkest new person at tonight’s holiday party

As I typed that sentence we all received an email saying, essentially, that exact sentence.  Apparently this is a very, um, thirsty company.   And these parties tend to get out of hand.  Which actually kinda rocks.  The flip-side is that if you get noticed being wasted, umm, apparently it’s not good.  So yeah.  Good luck on that.  Did I mention the party is a 4 hour open bar that goes till midnight (and quite possibly beyond…way to make this easy for me guys…i’ve got goals!)

2)  . . .

Okay, so I’m not the best at coming up with goals!   Sue me (please don’t)

Long Term Career Goals

1) Beat The High Score on the Ms. Pac Man Machine in the Office

Oh good God! I can not wait until I’m comfortable enough here to just go play that during my lunch hour.  I will probably do that more often than eat.  You see, I’ve never gotten the high score on a Pac Man machine of any sort.   At a resort in the Pocono’s we used to go to for easter I had #2 on a Ms. Pac Man once, but I could never get that elusive #1.  The problem was two pronged.  One, we were only ever there for long weekends.  Its hard to get into that Pac Man groove over three days, one of them requiring a family dinner.  But now, well, its my long term goal.  I got a while (unless I feel to meet the short term goal and get fired).  The other problem was a simple cash flow issue.  I didn’t have the Washington’s to play enough times in a row to get into a dot-eating flow.  But now, it’s free!  (also, in the other building there’s a big buck hunter, but I’ll only play that when I have to trek over there…plus I fucking suck at that game)

2) Ummm…I Dunno, Get Promoted…or something

Okay, so you got me.  There was never a list.  Just two goals.  Gimme a break.  I’m busy as hell here.

4 Responses to “Hello, Is This Thing On?”

  1. That’s definitely more goals than I have! (I’m impressed)

  2. Ahhh work holiday parties. Let’s hear the dirt! In fact, add your story to the list, here: http://www.selfabsorbed.me/work-holiday-party/

  3. Not being the drunkest person sounds like a tough request…anyway..I’d like to know whether you managed to break the rules or not :P

  4. Godspeed my good man. Victory over those communist ghosts shall be yours!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

