Hey! It’s A Guest Post!

Hello, new people.

I say that because, indeed, you’re all new to me. I’m Angela from over at My Quiet Testimony. See, this really cool group called 20 Something Bloggers is hosting a huge blog swap. So that’s why I’m here today, and Patrick, the one who normally blogs at here, is over at mine today.

Neat, huh?

This is actually kind of intimidating. I’ve never guest blogged before, and I want to make a good first impression. So what should I write about?

Maybe about working. I got my first “real” job last October. Well, I had a summer job when I was 15 and 16, but it was just for my aunt and uncle, and I didn’t really do anything that I considered “work,” so, we won’t count that. No, last October I got my first “real” job, waitressing at a little cafe/diner/coffee shop two blocks away from my college campus. It’s a little family-owned place right across the street from a hospital, so the busiest time of day is lunch time, when I think every doctor and nurse gets the same lunch break. The diner goes from empty to full within a half-hour, and stays that way for about an hour and a half. It can get pretty hectic. Especially when a table of eight nurses comes in all at the same time, and they all order something different, but they change the order to something special that makes my job more difficult (and then I’m the one who gets yelled at when the cooks make it wrong). One nurse can’t just order a regular steak salad. No, she has to specify “no cheese, fries crispy, instead of french bread make it garlic bread, and I’d like thousand island dressing and ranch. Oh, and no tomatoes.” And they all want about a billion soda refills, and then they put all the things from their meal that they DON’T want to eat, straight onto the table. So when it’s time for me to clean up after them (and get my measly $3 tip from a meal that cost about $40 and all the hassle I had to go through), there’s nasty, greasy, leftovers that I have to throw away.

Oh, and in Pittsburgh, where I go to school and work at this diner, minimum wage for a waitress is only $3/hour. So after my three-hour lunch shift…. yes. I only made $9. (That’s because, I guess, in Pennsylvania, the government just expects the amount of money you make in tips to make up for it. Which is bullshit, because a tip is extra. It can never be expected.)

Which is why I love waitressing in my home state of California SO much better. A minimum wage of $8 really makes a difference. That, and I’m also waitressing at a GREAT local pizza place, the best in the city. A place I’ve been eating at since I was a baby (seriously, it’s the best pizza. I wouldn’t be working there if I didn’t love the food). And the tips are better, too. After a good lunch shift in Pittsburgh (and I’m talking about GOOD shift), I’ll come away with about $40 (average is about $25).

My first night waitressing at the pizza place here in California I made over $100 in tips. Needless to say, I think waitressing in California is greatly satisfying.

But I didn’t really want to talk about money today. It can sound pretentious. Especially because I’m only waitressing. I’m not some big Wall Street exec. I just wanted to say that I really enjoy working. It’s fulfilling. I can’t wait until I’m done with school and get a career. I’m not going to be waitressing forever. I’m majoring in forensic science (yes! Just like CSI! Except, not really. At all. That show is REALLY fake), so someday I want to be up to my elbows in blood and semen stains, footprints and tiretracks, hairs and fingerprints, bullets and knife wounds.

But for now, I love waitressing.

2 Responses to “Hey! It’s A Guest Post!”

  1. $3 minimum rage?

    Thats just downright disappointing.

  2. 3.00??? You never mentioned that!! I’m very happy for you that California is making up for that.

    It’s okay if you talk about money because I *know* you’re not pretentious. I talk about money sometimes too, but only in the sense that I try to budget, not to brag about how much or little I have.

    Maybe you can combine your two great loves of waitressing and forensic science by investigating a crime scene at a diner!

Leave a Reply

