It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Well, as you all no doubt noticed if you’ve read this blog with any regularity (or even just for a week for that matter) I enjoy scripted television.  I really do.  And thankfully last night, a few of my favorites came back in all their original glory (sort of).

How I Met Your Mother returned, and picked up right where it left off.  Ted is engaged to Elliot Stella even though he doesn’t know what color eyes she has.  Dude, she’s blonde, your safe with blue on that one.  Also, she’s never seen Star Wars, which is actually a rather huge deal for some people (nope, not me, never tried to force feed Star Wars to a girlfriend…never happened)  And Barney loves Robin, but has to pretend to love bimbos because he’s Barney and stereotyped.  There, quick recap.  For more check out the Tuesday Morning HIMYM over at Midwestern’s Guide To NYC.

Now, I was really tired from working all weekend (and every weekend for the foreseeable future, damn you being broke!) so I was looking forward to watching Heroes and going to sleep at 10. But nooooo, Heroes has to have a two hour premier! Wonderful! So yeah, I hope Heroes can return back to form from the first season, rather than the dismal 2nd season.  Luckily, they made a step in the right direction by abandoning EVERY plotline from season 2 as if it didn’t happen. I thought the episode(s?) was (were?) strong and started enough conflict to last a whole season.  Here’s to hoping they don’t use quick fixes and new, deus ex machina style heroes, to move the plot forward.  But we’ll see. You want more on Heroes you say, well go to AV Club’s TV Club entry on Heroes.

So yeah, that’s what I did last night. Speaking of television, anyone watch the Emmy’s? What the shit was that? They were awful.  I mean, yay  30 Rock and all, but god, what the shit was that?  Specifically, what the hell was this?  I didn’t really watch much of the show actually, because I had to watch the Yankees say goodbye to Yankee Stadium in front of a crowd full of more man tears than the cancer support groups in Fight Club, but what I did see was absolutely terrible.  A smattering or reality show hosts here, Jeff Probst winning an emmy there, what is wrong with television! As someone who harbors a secret (not so secret) dream to win an emmy (without trying very hard to do so) the emmy’s being a suckfest kinda bums me out.  Hey, at least Alec Baldwin won.

2 Responses to “It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

  1. Hey excuse me, GREEN eyed blonde here!!! We don’t all have blue eyes you know!!! 🙂 Other than that, she sounds like me re: the star wars thing. A man TRIED to convince me on it once and I TRIED (I really did!) but it wouldn’t work.

    I haven’t even seen season TWO of HIMYM yet so I probably shouldn’t even have read this post. Oh well . . .

  2. was that blondist of me?

Leave a Reply

